Skip to main content
Department of Information Technology


to UPMARC members

  • Germán Ceballos, Erik Hagersten och David Black-Schaffer received the Best Student Paper Award at the 16th International Symposium on Parallel and Distributed Processing with Applications in Melbourne, Australia.


  • Kiko Fernandez-Reyes, Dave Clarke, Elias Castegren, and Huu-Phuc Vo have received the best paper award at COORDINATION 2018 conference for their paper "Forward to a Promising Future." Kiko Fernandez will be presenting the paper on June 19, in Madrid.
  • Björn Victor, was awarded the Uppsala University Pedagogical Award for 2018 in the area of mathematics, natural sciences, and technology.
    • The motivation reads: "Björn Victor is an engaged and didactic teacher who inspires colleagues and creates a common ground between students and teachers. With an extensive pedagogical experience and responsiveness, he develops courses with student-centered learning. As an educational leader, Björn works to constantly renew teaching and provide support and advice in everything from the development of new educational programs to educational training for colleagues."
  • Stefanos Kaxiras, has been inducted in the ISCA Hall of Fame.
    • For a number of years, Mark Hill and Guri Sohi of the University of Wisconsin have maintained an informal “Hall of Fame” for the International Symposium on Computer Architecture, based on the (admittedly imperfect) metric of having co-authored 8 or more papers that have appeared in the premier venue for computer architecture research. In the computer architecture community it is considered a great achievement to be in this list.
    • Professor Stefanos Kaxiras has just been “inducted.” Stanford, the University of Illinois, the University of Michigan, the University of Washington, and the University of Wisconsin each have 5 members. Microsoft Research has 4. The University of Texas has 3. HP Labs, UC Berkeley, UCSB, and the University of Colorado each have 2. CMU, MIT, and a dozen other institutions each have one. Now, Uppsala university is represented on the list.
  • TACAS'18 distinguished artifact award winner at ETAPS i Thessaloniki, April 19, 2018.
  • 180113: The IEEE Micro Top Picks 2018 selection committee is delighted to inform you that your paper has been accepted to appear as a Top Pick this year.
    • Title: Non-Speculative Reordering of Loads in TSO
    • Authors: Stefanos Kaxiras (Uppsala University), Trevor Carlson (Uppsala University), Mehdi Alipour (Uppsala University), Alberto Ros (University of Murcia)
    • IEEE Micro will publish its annual “Top Picks from the Computer Architecture Conferences” issue in May/June 2018.
      • This issue collects some of the most significant research papers in computer architecture based on novelty and potential for long-term impact. Any computer architecture paper (not a combination of papers) published in the top conferences of 2017 (including MICRO-50) is eligible. The Top Picks Selection Committee will recognize those significant and insightful papers that have the potential to influence the work of computer architects for years to come.
    • This is a great distinction for UART, and the IT Department, as it is ---as far as we can tell--- a first for Sweden.
  • The paper Trevor E. Carlson, Kim-Anh Tran, Alexandra Jimborean, Konstantinos Koukos, Magnus Själander and Stefanos Kaxiras. "Transcending Hardware Limits with Software Out-of-order Processing." IEEE Computer Architecture Letters (2017) was selected as one of three Best of CAL in 2017 by the Editorial Board of IEEE Computer Architecture Letters (CAL).
    • Authors of Best of CAL papers get to present their work (and any follow-up results if they wish) at the IEEE International Symposium on High Performance Computer Architecture (HPCA). This year, the Best of CAL session will take place on the second day of the conference, February 27, 2018.
    • This is a first for our department, to have a CAL paper awarded a presentation in the one of the top-two forums in Computer Architecture.
  • Parosh Abdulla and Bengt Jonsson have, together with two French research colleagues, received the prestigious "CAV award" in 2017. The award is in recognition of their research on verification of correctness for parallel programs and computer systems.
  • The precise motivation reads "Parosh Aziz Abdulla, Alain Finkel, Bengt Jonsson, and Philippe Schnoebelen receive the 2017 CAV Award for the development of general mathematical structures leading to general decidability results for the verification of infinite state transition systems."
  • The four recipients of the CAV award have since the 90-s developed increasingly powerful techniques for verification and bug-finding in parallel programs. Among their most important results are general analysis techniques that have had strong and lasting influence on the field, and shown to be applicable to an impressively large number of verification problems, including the automatic verification of multi-threaded programs and network protocols.
  • Parosh Abdulla and Bengt Jonsson's research has in recent years been conducted under the hood of the UPMARC centre of excellence, where they have developed methods and tools for analyzing parallel programs that execute on multicore processors.
  • The "CAV Award" is given once per year at the annual conference on Computer-Aided Verification, which is the most prominent international conference for research on computer aided verification. The purpose of the award is to recognize influential and prominent research in the area. Parosh Abdulla och Bengt Jonsson received the award dollar together with Alain Finkel and Philippe Schnoebelen, Paris, at this year's conference in Heidelberg.
  • Kim-Anh Tran has January 2017 been awarded an ACM-W scholarship.
  • Kim-Anh Tran has January 2017 been awarded a professional activities grant from the ACM SIGPLAN Professional Activities Committee for attending the International Symposium on Code Generation and Optimization (CGO'17).
  • Pontus Ekberg, has been awarded the Bjurzons Premium "for an excellent treatise in the field of science written by a student or young academic teacher." december 2016. Read about Bjurzons Premium here (in Swedish only).
  • Kim-Anh Tran was awarded the third prize for her work on compiling for energy-efficiency "SWOOP: Software Out-of-Order Execution for In-Order Architectures" in the ACM Student Research competition organised in conjunction with PACT'16. More details about the competition and prizes are available here:


  • Independent Pedagogical Award 2016: David Black-Schaffer has been awarded the Independent Pedagogical Award 2016! The theme was "Integration of digital resources in teaching and learning". The motivation: David Black-Schaffer accounts for a dedicated and enthusiastic integration of digital resources in teaching and learning. The students work actively and are supported in their learning process with very elaborated digital teaching material. With great passion, he develops, uses and renews a "flipped classroom teaching", which he has also shared with students and teachers. This full-scale integration of digital resources stimulates learning and makes the studying fun. [Editor's translation]



Updated  2019-02-21 10:43:39 by Roland Grönroos.