Skip to main content
Department of Information Technology

PhD Courses at the Department of Information Technology

Please, read your relevant curriculum at subject curricula in order to understand the course requirements of (your specialisation of) your PhD education subject.

Mandatory Course by the TekNat Faculty

A course on research ethics, minimum 2 credits, is mandatory for a Licentiate or PhD degree at TekNat, and mandatory at the IT Department for the 50% declaration. Search for research ethics at TekNat PhD-Level Courses and also see UU education on research ethics.

Teacher training

A course on teacher training is highly recommended for PhD students with teaching duties. See, for example, the popular 7,5 credit Academic Teacher Training Course.

Faculty-wide Courses by the TekNat Faculty

Faculty-wide PhD courses shared by all the departments within the TekNat Faculty are aimed at PhD students within several subjects and specialisations. See the current offerings at TekNat Faculty-wide PhD-level Courses. In fact, several of these courses are taught by us at the IT Department.

Courses by the IT Department

The IT Department (co-)teaches the following ad hoc courses in the near future:

Course Broad? Responsible Period
Integrating sustainability into research Martin Stojanov, Cristina Ghita and Mike Hazas (examiner) April 15, 22-25, 2024
Interactive Theorem Proving, 5 credits broad Tjark Weber 2024 (period 1)

The IT Department offers a core curriculum of PhD courses regularly. In addition, PhD courses in the form of seminars and guest lectures are often organised, in order to cover special issues and timely research topics. Every PhD student is free to attend every course of every subject, so all course lists should be browsed, especially since there are broad introductory courses in each list. Here are the course lists of the :

Other Sites with Relevant Courses


Archive of PhD level courses at the IT department

See also archives of the four PhD education subjects linked to above:

Updated  2024-05-16 10:42:50 by Tjark Weber.